Maxwell Football Club President, Mark Dianno, announced the 2019 semifinalists for the George Munger College Coach of the Year Award, which is presented yearly by the Maxwell Football Club. The list includes a field of 22 candidates for the award who have been selected by the MFC National Selection Committee. All semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order by school.


2019 George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Semi-Finalists

Troy Calhoun Air Force
Eli Drinkwitz Appalachian State
Matt Rhule Baylor
Bryan Harsin Boise State
Jim McElwain Central Michigan
Luke Fickell Cincinnati
Dabo Swinney Clemson
Dan Mullen Florida
Kirby Smart Georgia
Tom Allen Indiana
Scott Satterfield Louisville
Ed Orgeron LSU
Mike Norvell Memphis
P.J. Fleck Minnesota
Ken Niumatalolo Navy
Ryan Day Ohio State
Lincoln Riley Oklahoma
Mario Cristobal Oregon
James Franklin Penn State
Rocky Long San Diego State
Sonny Dykes SMU
Kyle Whittingham Utah


Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Thursday Nov. 21stand close on Sunday, Dec.8th. The finalist round will include the top three coaches as selected in the semifinalist round. Finalist voting will open Dec.9th and run until Dec. 27th. The winner will be announced Dec. 29th.

The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club’s National Awards Gala on Friday, March 6, 2020 at the Tropicana Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Jeff Monken of Army-West Point was the 2018 winner of the award.

All questions concerning these semifinalist lists or the awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club can be directed to Mr. Mark Wolpert (Maxwell Football Club Executive Director), or to Mr. Richard Cirminiello  (Director of Collegiate Awards).

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 24 awards boast over 750 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.